Ibn Khaldun Prize

In order to encourage participation of and encourage publication by young economists (defined as having no more than six years beyond the PhD), the Middle East Economic Association (MEEA) offers a Prize, the Ibn Khaldun Prize,  to a young economist submitting a paper before December 10 of the year for which the award will be made. The paper should be one presented in a meeting, workshop or similar organized by MEEA during that calendar year or in the subsequent January meeting in the next calendar year. Co-authored papers can be considered.

Winners of the award receive a certificate, a cash award of $250 and exemption from dues and submission fees for two consecutive calendar years. The MEEA believes that each winner of the award of this prize should list this honor on their CV or resume.  Winners of the award are expected to remain active in MEEA activities and preferably to eventually assume positions of responsibility and leadership in the Association.  MEEA members as well as non-members are encouraged to spread the information about this prize to junior faculty members, graduate students and young professionals in their respective organizations.


To qualify for the Prize, an applicant must send the paper in electronic form to Professor Jeffrey B. Nugent, Chair of the Selection Committee at or in written form at Department of Economics, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA. 90089-0253 on or before December 10. Each year there is a selection committee of two or three persons.

Nominations can also be suggested by senior economists participating in sessions where they hear or read a paper by a young economist which they believe may qualify for the award.

The prize is not awarded in those years in which none of the papers submitted reached the quality deemed necessary for the Ibn Khaldun Prize.  Alternatively, the MEEA Board may agree to grant more than one Ibn Khaldun prize in a particular year if more than one paper is deemed worthy of the Prize.

For a list of past winners, please see Ibn Khaldun Winners.

Travel Grants


In cooperation with the Economic Research Forum, Professor Hassan Y. Aly, the president of Middle East Economic Association (MEEA), created travel grants for young scholars with promising research so that they would be able to attend the MEEA conferences. The grants are funded by the Economic Research Forum.

For a list of past winners see Travel Grant Recipients.

AEA Continuing Education Grant


Every year, by the end of the ASSA annual meeting in early January, American Economic Association (AEA) holds three workshops to train mid-career economists and others on the latest developments in various fields of the economic sciences. These workshops are offered by world-class economists and are tailored primarily to faculty at colleges and universities around the world that have fewer opportunities than their colleagues in research universities with Ph.D. programs to keep up with the advancements in methodology, theory, and practice of economics.

Middle East Economic Association (MEEA) is using this opportunity to expand its impact and help build research and scientific capacity in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. Every year, since the 2018 ASSA meeting, MEEA will offer grants to cover the registration costs of a few selected participants as well as two nights of accommodation. The process of choosing the participants is competitive and the call for applications is usually sent in September/October of every year. Only MEEA members who are residing in the MENA region are eligible to apply. MEEA members who can be described as midcareer (at least 10 years after Ph.D. is granted) will be given priority for this grant.

Please see AEA Continuing Education website for further information. The list of past winners of this grant is here.