



Call for Papers

20th International Conference of MEEA

Technology, Development and Sustainability in MENA Region

We are pleased to invite you to submit your abstracts/papers for the 20th International Conference of MEEA, organized and hosted by the Istanbul Topkapı University on **September 13th** and **14th**, **2024.** The conference theme for this year is "Technology, Development and Sustainability in MENA Region" and will be held on a hybrid format including both online and in person sessions. There will be both regular and invited sessions.

The organising committee welcomes submissions of abstracts/papers on all fields of economic and financial research related to the Middle East and North Africa. The meeting will have the following sub – themes;

- Disruptive Technologies
- Development
- Climate and Sustainability
- Economic and Political Risks and Uncertainties
- International Trade and Economics of Globalization
- Sustainable Development
- Political Economy
- Macroeconomic Policies
- Inequality and Poverty
- Financial Markets, Institutions and Integration
- Labor Economics
- Industrial Relations
- Gender Issues

- Institutional Economics
- Regional Economics
- Natural Resources and Environmental Economics
- Energy Economics
- Transportation Economics
- Agriculture, Food Security and Adaptation

Submission Guidelines and important dates;

- Your abstract should be submitted to Ms. Sena Göncüler, senagonculer@topkapi.edu.tr
- Deadline for abstract submission is July 12th, 2024. Abstracts should include the
 paper's objectives, data, methodology, results, and conclusions. JEL classification and
 up to 3 keywords should also be included.
- Acceptance of abstracts/papers for the conference will be sent to authors by August 9th, 2024.
- Registration deadline August 19th, 2024.
- Full paper submission is **August 29th**, **2024** although full paper submission is not compulsory. Only full papers sent before 29th of August will be considered for the special issue(s) of the conference journal(s) TBA later.
- Announcement of the Final Program: September 6th, 2024

In order to submit abstracts, you need to renew your membership for the year 2024 via MEEA portal: https://www.meeaweb.org/login.asp

If you're not a member, you can initiate your membership by registering on our portal at https://www.meeaweb.org/signup.asp

The membership fees are as follows:

Region A: High income countries including North America, Europe, Japan, South Korea, Australia, New Zealand, and Gulf countries such as Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the UAE.

Region B: All other countries (not included in Region A).

The membership fees are;

- Regular members residing in region A: 30 USD
- Student members residing in region A: 20 USD
- Regular members residing in region B: 15 USD
- Student members residing in region B: 10 USD

Those who reside in Palestine, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Syria, and Yemen are exempted from paying membership dues or submission fees.

Conference registration fee:

- Regular registration: 30 USD
- Student registration: 15 USD (Valid student ID required)

Venue: Kazlıçeşme and Levent Campuses of Istanbul Topkapı University

Accommodation: Conference Hotels and Room Rates will be announced by April 2024.

Events and Tours: To be announced in May 2024.

<u>Invited and Keynote Speakers</u>: To be announced in May 2024

• <u>Contact</u>: For further questions and details, please contact Ms. Sena Göncüler via <u>senagonculer@topkapi.edu.tr</u>

Conference Web Page: meea2024.topkapi.edu.tr (Under Construction)

Conference Chairs

Dr. Emre Alkin (Rector of the Topkapı University)

Dr. Mahmoud Mohieldin (President of MEEA, IMF)

Conference Organization Committee:

Dr. Ahmed Elsayed (United Arab Emirates University)

Dr. Alican Umut (Trakya Üniversitesi)

Dr. Can Karahasan (MEF University)

Dr. Erhan Aslanoğlu (Topkapı University)

Dr. Gül Dertli (Topkapı University)

Dr. İrem Doğan (Bahçeşehir University)

- Dr. Kenan Tata (Piri Reis University)
- Dr. Oya Kent (Okan University)
- Dr. Pınar Deniz (Marmara University)
- Dr. Rıza Demirer (Southern Illinois University Edwardsville)
- Dr. Shawkat Hammodueh (Drexel University)
- Res. Ass. Elif Tekin (Topkapı University)
- Res. Ass. Sena Göncüler (Topkapı University)
- Res. Ass. Yasin Enes Aksu (Piri Reis University)

Conference Scientific Committee:

- Dr. Alpay Filiztekin (Sabancı University)
- Dr. Burak Arzova (Marmara University)
- Dr. Chahir Zaki (Cairo University)
- Dr. Ege Yazgan (Bilgi University)
- Dr. Fatma Doğruel (Marmara University)
- Dr. Gülçin Özkan (King's College London)
- Dr. Mahdi Majbouri (Babson College)
- Dr. Mehmet Pinar (Sevilla University)
- Dr. Moamen Gouda (Hankuk University of Foreign Studies)
- Dr. Nathalie Hilmi (The Monaco Scientific Center)
- Dr. Jeff Nugett (University of Southern California)
- Dr. Kamil Yılmaz (Koç University)
- Dr. Mine Çınar (Loyola University Chicago)
- Dr. Rahel M. Schomaker (German Research Institute for Public Administration)
- Dr. Sadi Uzunoğlu (Trakya University)
- Dr. Serdar Sayan (TOBB University)
- Dr. Shireen AlAzzawi (Santa Clara University)